Cost for a First Time DUI in California: up to $16,000

A recently published article in the Los Angeles Times shows a first-offense misdemeanor DUI conviction in California can cost up to $15,649.

This cost was calculated by the Automobile Club of Southern California by totaling up state and local fines, penalties, restitution, legal fees and increased insurance costs. It does not include any cost for losing work time for court appearances, bail or any vehicle damage.

Link to the article

Being proactive and not drinking and driving will save you this horrendous cost. If you did get a DUI and want to make sure you don’t end up with such an amount, you might want to invest in good legal representation. A lawyer can save you a lot of time and money by representing you in court, getting fines lowered and even saving you a DUI conviction and possible jail time.

The attorneys in our office are very experienced and consultations are always free. If you have any questions regarding a DUI or other traffic or criminal matters, feel free to contact us.